Board index Site Music-Playground.net

Usability

Discuss Music Playground
Post a reply
21 posts • Page 1 of 31, 2, 3

Usability

Postby lothario » Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:18 am

This is something I've thought about for a long time, but just can't seem to wrap my mind around. I've always wanted, when people visit the site, to immediately know what the site is about, and what they can do here. Right now, I think that definitely is not the case.

I am a programmer by heart, and not a designer. I can make this site do the things I want it to, but when it comes to making the site usable for less tech-savvy individuals I know that it's impossible for me to look beyond the code. I can never experience the site, without having all it's functionalities in my mind.

What I want, is to boil the site down to what it does best, and present ONLY those things for first time visitors. I want it simple on top, and then when you delve deeper you can experience all the extra things that exists on the site.

So what are the best things about MP? Well, I'd like you to answer that as well, but in my opinion it boils down to only two things:

- The community
- The competitions

So what I want to do, is to really make those two things apparent for first-time visitors. I'm not quite sure how to do that, but I have some ideas. The first thing I want to do, is to trim the site of unnecessary content.
For me that means removing the featured artist pages...

To be honest, I never use those pages. And I mean ever. I know they are not properly working right now, but even when they did, I wasn't using them. I try not to think about them, cause I know they desperately need updating, but I just can't find the motivation for it. There are far better track-hosting services out there (soundcloud f.ex.), and I would prefer to integrate that into the site, instead of trying to come up with my own.